Writing all the Things–Except in this Blog

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve written here. My recent ideas have been circulating my novels and the blog got lost. Well, I’m back, and hopefully will take a shorter vacation from here in the future.

I’ve been writing a ton in my novels! I just finished the second book in the trilogy I’m working on. It’s going very well I think. Both MSs need plenty of editing of course, but it’s nice to be in a groove. With the second book done my plan is to go back to the first book, make sure everything flows together, and then start adding more details to the scenery to both books. I love writing dialog, but my time period and place struggles in my early MSs. The trilogy takes place in an iron-age type setting. Knights, horses, mule carts, swords, and dragons. However, the writing is pretty contemporary so I need to be sure the setting is clear enough to understand.

I’m hoping to start querying agents in the next couple months. As much as I want to start now, I know I need to focus on revisions. Editing is fun, sometimes, and hopefully the more I read over and edit the clearer I’ll make the characters and setting and maybe get ideas for the third book. My biggest fear is the third book falling short and becoming a repetition of what’s happened. There are several series where the third book is essentially the same as the first book but with a couple new characters. I want some of the same themes to be consistent, but I don’t want the same conflicts coming back again and again. Flow and pacing is key. All I need are a few more new ideas, some returning characters, dramatic events, and I’ll be fine. Easy. (Yeah…right…)

What is everyone else working on? Any tips for writing series books?

1 Comment

Filed under fantasy writing, triology, writing

One response to “Writing all the Things–Except in this Blog

  1. Sounds like you’re doing great! Good luck =) just got to remember to keep going (I’m saying that more to myself than you haha)

Leave a Reply

