NaNoWriMo

November is National Novel Writing Month, where the challenge is to write 50,000 words in 30 days. This is my first year EVER out of school, and while the idea of producing that many words in a short amount of time scares me, I have decided to try it this year. November used to be finals time at school so my friends who tried NaNo ended up breathing coffee and going crazy with the latest MS and term papers. I’m not insane so I decided to opt out, but now I don’t have much of an excuse anymore!

My goal is not to write a whole new book but to get as close to adding 50,000 words as I can to Charley’s Dragons. I cut 40,000 words a few months ago and beefing it back up has been slow. Most of the book is pure dialog so it intentionally lacks the meat-heavy word count that description allows. I do need to add more description and more conflicts to fill the holes remaining, but I’m excited to have a goal. If you have not noticed by my lack of blog posts, writing has been slow-going and frustrating the past few weeks. November I’m going to try and over-compensate and write more than I need to so that I have an excuse to go back and nit-pick.

The single hardest thing about NaNo is not the word count: it’s all about not editing as you go. There are going to be so many stupid words/sentences/plot stalls/etc and it’s okay. Writing the “perfect” MS is not about how fast it is but how well it’s shaped over time. While NaNo allows the over-zealous writer to have at it and go crazy, for those of us who are more perfectionistic types it can be like pulling teeth not pressing that “delete” button.

The goal is always 40,000 words but my personal goal is to add 35,000 words to get my MS back to the word count it was before. If I end up cutting all of those words because it would work better as a novella so be it, but I want this to work as a novel and I think it can as long as I am not shy about adding place descriptions.

Have any of you done NaNoWriMo before? First time like me? Comment below to share your thoughts and excitement!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo

  1. I attempted NaNoWriMo a few years ago and did end up writing a 25,000 word novella in 20 days, and then did editing and stuff, but not much came of it- I did self-publish it, but have since taken it down.

    This year I plan on writing book one of a beginner chapter book or middle grade chapter book (depending on where my words lead me) and also book two of an early chapter book. This plus PiBoIdMo (Picture Book Idea Month) where the goal is to get 30 picture book ideas in 30 days. This’ll be my 2nd year doing this.

    No Shave November will be the easiest of the three 🙂

    Good luck!!

    • Sounds great! PiBoIdMo is also a huge task. I might attempt that as well. Since I’m nannying so much it helps with ideas for picture books. Also, why is no shave November a thing? 😉

Leave a Reply

