New Group

This past week I moved into a new apartment! While it is great it does not have any internet. I am currently babysitting and borrowing internet while the infant sleeps! Onward…

I joined a new critique group that is going very well. It’s a group of writers from around Evanston that have different styles and successes in everything from novels to poetry to flash fiction. It is great to be with a group again. Writing is such a lonely life and being able to talk to others and read their work is so refreshing and inspiring. Last week I submitted the first 10 pages of my latest novel Charley’s Dragons. I have had no luck with agents lately and so I wanted feedback.

The critiques i got from everyone were fabulous. No one in the group is afraid to speak up when they read something that does not work. I got great comments about one section where none of the characters were likable and it was hard to read since the scene was too tense. Other sections were highly enjoyed and they wanted more! The beginning was split: half understood and half were confused. (Spoiler: the beginning is strictly dialog without any character markers!)

Overall I was encouraged. They all wanted to read more and had consistent feedback about lightening up the main character’s home life from the get go. Once I get all of my crap in place in my new apartment I am excited to start revising and finish up the list of agents I have. Only a few are left on my initial list of 50-something agents, but maybe one of them will bite. I can hope. If not, there are soooooo many more agents to consider. Onward!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

