Piling Up

It has been a while since I have written here! Life has caught up with me. I’m fostering 5 bottle-fed kittens and I’ve been completely crazy keeping them fed and clean.

Anyway, I have slowly been getting queries out there and the rejections are beginning to pile up. While I appreciate hearing back from the agency versus waiting for 4 weeks until they for sure do not want anything, it is still a disappointment each time. I get that heart flutter each time I get a reply email back. That anticipation is so thrilling. I have a second where I get a flash that they want more, that they are excited!!!…and then no. I have not gotten any personal rejections either, but at least the “stock-rejections” are very polite and encouraging.

One thing I have learned that is encouraging is that agents are not rude. (At least not in their emails!) They always reassure authors in the rejection letter that everyone has different tastes and to keep writing and querying. It is so much better than them saying “NO” and leaving it at that. Agents know that they are picky and that the publishing industry is intense. If I were to tell other authors–or myself–anything about querying it would be that you need to expect a lot of rejection, but nothing you will hear back will be discouraging. The writing world is friendlier than some people think. For me and my experience with music I have found the writing world–at least through12x12 and SCBWI–extremely encouraging and supportive, whereas in music it can be more competitive.

I will keep writing and querying and I hope that you do the same. Keep it up! The journey is never over and that’s what makes it exciting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

