Almost Heartbreak

As I chew through my edited MS I am faced page after page with the knowledge that this person wants me to eliminate words/paragraphs/chapters from my story. I crafted every word in this story, it is as close to my baby as paper and ink can get…then why don’t I feel so bad?

Part of me wants to be that defensive author who defends each aspect of my story, but in reality a cut here or a tweak there can really elevate the story. It is hard to admit that an original MS is not perfect. Parts of my book I spent a lot of time crafting when in reality they are not doing much for the story. While it’s sad to say goodbye to some scenes that are irrelevant to the plot or characters that only show up twice, it is nice to get a perspective that reins in on what the story needs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Editing, Self-Publishing

Leave a Reply

