Fun Frustrating Infuriating Formatting!

I have started looking into formatting my first book.  It does not seem difficult at first, but be warned, it looks like this is going to be a long hall…

I am reconsidering what company I want to use to publish and now I am leaning towards Createspace.  It is an Amazon company so many small bookstores will not purchase my book since they do not want anything to do with Amazon.  However, most of the self-published authors I have talked to have used Createspace with minimal complaints.  At this point in my life it is the most cost-effective, has helpful tools, and I can contact people who are familiar with how it works.  Lulu has too many contradictions in the fine print, so for now I am staying away.

Anyway, CS has its own formatting templates.  These templates can take my MS and plop it in nice and pretty to the book size I want.  It also auto checks for errors in the formatting, but I keep getting one yellow ‘flag’ that I don’t know how to get rid of (if I can).  I just learned what justified margins are the other day, so that will make all of the page lines straight and professional-looking.

What concerns me the most is formatting the book cover.  I am hiring a friend to do the cover art for me, but I am having trouble figuring out how to make the cover and if I can adjust it on the website.  I’m sure there’s an easier way to do that, but right now I have no idea what to do about that!  I sent the template to her, she has more computer experience than I so hopefully she will know what to do.  If not, well, we’ll see what happens!

1 Comment

Filed under Self-Publishing

One response to “Fun Frustrating Infuriating Formatting!

  1. I just finished using Createspace for the 2 books I just finished and it was pretty straight forward. Not easy by any means but there was plenty of help and quick turnaround times! Also instant porting to KDP for e-readers!

Leave a Reply

